Day Five: Crossing the Border

On the way to Carnarvon I stopped off at the 26th Parallel sign for a bit of memorabilia and had to sneak across the road to get the other pic to save time later.

After arriving in Carnarvon I was getting a bit jealous of how close I was to Coral Bay but not quite there yet.

I booked into the Coral Coast Tourist Park and settled in for the night. I took some quality time to lie down and watch a movie after driving for most of the day.

In the morning after packing up I took the time to do some tourist things and checked out the old One Mile Jetty, which unfortunately was closed off at the time. So I spent some time wandering around the museum and mangroves.

Then after stocking up on supplies before my trip to coral bay (as it can be quite expensive to just buy the basics, it is sometimes better to take what you can).

I decided to visit the Blowholes 75 kms outside of Carnarvon, I would have loved to have been able to take the coast road up and visit Red Bluff and 3 Mile but I had a motor home I wasn’t allowed to take onto unsealed roads.

I loved visiting the blowholes. I went for a walk about a mile up the beach to get a look at the stunning views from afar. It was certainly fun standing next to the blowholes waiting for the water to spray up, not knowing when it will shoot up and then when it finally does taking pictures and trying not to get saturated by the spray if the wind changes or you just happen to be standing in the wrong spot.

These cliffs are especially dangerous during rough weather and high tides as King Waves can crash over the sides and sweep unsuspecting people off. So just bit of advice if the weather is rough or swell is big stand back. True it is the best time to see the blowholes in all their glory, as during high swells the jets of water can reach up to 20 metres but also the most dangerous. Lucky the day I went it was quite calm but still produce some magnificent water jets.

phonto

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After spending time at the blowholes it was back on the road for the 2 and a half hr drive to my final destination Coral Bay.

After having a quick stop for lunch at the Minilya Bridge Roadhouse I was off to Coral Bay, which happened to be at the exact same time a semi trailer finished his lunch and just happened to be taking the same route as me and on an extremely small road, so I ended up being stuck behind him driving this six berth motor home. So that was a lot of fun for an hour.

I Finally arrived in Coral Bay and booked a lot up the back (away from the crowds) in the caravan park Peoples Park

After Settling in I went for a bit of a look around to see what was where and how far away it was. The view from the beach lookout was amazing, looking out over the clear blue waters with just a slight afternoon breeze flowing in.

Coral Bay Lookout

Coral Bay Lookout 2

I couldn’t wait to get up and explore in the morning as every thing had shut for the day but I could at least focus on what I was more interested in after picking up a few brochures I could start planning the next 6 days in this paradise.

Leave a comment