Day Seven: Beach Life

Time for some relaxation and exploring today, I decided to do a Sea Scooter Tour in the reefs just off the beach of Coral bay.

Kayak Adventures

The Ningaloo Kayak Adventures is run by a husband and wife team, Stacey and Corey who are both very friendly and always up for a chat they offer a relaxed and pleasant experience and are very good at putting your mind at ease if you have a few questions. As I had bought the Ultimate Day Package I ended up spending some time hanging out and getting the down-low about the area. I also had three different activities I could add to my list. These involved a 2 hour Sea Scooter tour out to Ayers Rock – a 3000yr old Coral Formation sitting just off the coast of Coral bay. Also hire of a Kayak for 1 hr and hire of a paddle board for an 1 hr. I decided to split these up over different days in case I had a few hrs to spare in-between the other activities.

I must say these scooters are wicked and it was the first time I had seen this service offered on the WA Coast. Jumping into the water with my snorkel gear and wetsuit (both provided if necessary) it was time to learn how to make these things move. Once you get the hang of it you can basically put your head down press the button and off you go. We explored the area and the massive coral formations. Swimming around these it is surprising that the sea life don’t really even notice you are there so it provides a great opportunity to get up close and personal with the variety of fish and coral formations.

The crystal clear blue waters off coral bay are beautiful so after my morning adventure it was a good time to spend relaxing and checking out the views on offer from the beach.

Coral bay Water 2w

Coral Bay Water 3w

Coral Bay Beach Panaw

After spending the morning in the sea I decide to go for a walk up the coast towards the Shark Nursery. It was a bit of a hike over the exposed reefs and rocks but worth the views.

Coral bay Shark Nursery Panaw

A few pieces of Crab artwork on the beach

The birds hanging around at low tide for a feed

Birds of Shark NuseryW

Another day of adventure gone and I had definitely made use of the time I had exploring the area. Even saw a few cheeky birds who were perched on a no camping sign.

Cheeky BirdsW

Leave a comment